John McGahern


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Dublin‐born novelist and short‐story writer. His early novels (mostly set in his native Ireland) are The Barracks (1962), The Dark (1965), and The Leavetaking (1974); The Dark is a novel of adolescent sexuality, guilt, and awakening, describing a boy's intense relationship with his widowed father, his schoolteacher, and a priest. Later novels include The Pornographer (1979), Amongst Women (1990), and That They May Face the Rising Sun (2002). His Collected Stories was published in 1992. Memoir was published in 2005.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by John McGahern

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.