kingdom of Meath

Related Overviews

Uí Néill

high kingship

Henry II (1133—1189) king of England, duke of Normandy and of Aquitaine, and count of Anjou


'kingdom of Meath' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Meath (Mide, ‘middle province’) became the fifth province of Ireland along with Ulster, Leinster, Munster, and Connacht after the Uí Néill established their supremacy over central and north Ireland in the 5th cent. However, in the 8th cent. the kingdom of Meath collapsed and a separate kingdom of Brega was formed. Though the two were reunited in the 11th cent, Meath never regained its former importance.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.