Mediterranean Games

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A multi-sport games held every four years, for countries from Europe, Asia, and Africa bordering the Mediterranean Sea (excepting Israel), and three other European countries (Andorra, San Marino, and Serbia). The Games were first held in Alexandria, Egypt, in 1951, and the Greek Olympian legacy is invoked in the International Mediterranean Games Committee's rationale to strengthen cultural bonds between young people. The Committee is permanently located in Athens, Greece, and its general secretary must be a Greek national. The Games are authorized by the International Olympic Committee and the Hellenic (Greek) Olympic Committee. The logo of the Games, dating from 1979, comprises three white overlapping circles (for its three participating continents) on a sea-blue background, with the circles dissolving in their lower part in an image evoking the immersion of the rings in the common waters of the Mediterranean. Italy, France, and Spain have dominated the medal counts, with Egypt the top African nation and Syria the top Asian one. The geographic criteria of the Games are interesting, allowing a French region—Languedoc and Roussillon—to host the 1993 Games, rather than a city.

Subjects: Sport and Leisure.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.