Men and Women

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A collection of 51 poems by R. Browning, published in two vols, 1855. The poems date from the period after Browning's marriage in 1846. They show Browning's mind at its most multitudinous and eclectic, ranging over history, art, philosophy, and religion; they include many of his finest dramatic monologues, such as ‘Fra Lippo Lippi’, ‘Bishop Blougram's Apology’, ‘Andrea del Sarto’, and ‘Cleon’. The collection also includes Browning's most famous love‐poem, ‘Love Among the Ruins’, and the problematic ‘Childe Roland to the Dark Tower Came’.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Robert Browning (1812—1889) poet

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.