Mercalli scale

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An earthquake-intensity scale based on direct observation. It ranges from scales I (not felt) and II (felt by most people at rest), to VII (difficult for a person to remain standing), X (most structures destroyed), and XII (total devastation). It is not a reliable scale for energy release because the extent of destruction depends on the local geology, type of buildings, etc. See also richter magnitude scale.

Subjects: Earth Sciences and Geography.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.