Metaphysical Society

Related Overviews

T. H. Huxley (1825—1895) biologist and science educationist

John Tyndall (1820—1893) physicist and mountaineer

W. E. Gladstone (1809—1898) prime minister and author

Thomas Knowles (1723—1802) religious writer

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Philosophy


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Founded 1869 by Sir J. T. Knowles. It lasted until 1880 and brought together most of the leaders of English thought of the period, including T. H. Huxley, Tyndall, Manning, Gladstone, and Tennyson.

Subjects: Philosophy.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.