Mary Russell Mitford

(1787—1855) playwright and writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


published several volumes of poems. Her dramas include Julian (1823), Foscari (1826), and Rienzi (1828). She is best remembered for the series of sketches and stories which made up Our Village (1832), based on Three Mile Cross, near Reading. This was followed by Belford Regis (1835), a portrait of Reading; Country Stories (1837); Recollections of a Literary Life (1852); and Atherton, and Other Tales (1854), a novel. Her fluent letters, to Lamb, Haydon, Horne, Ruskin, Elizabeth Barrett (Browning), W. S. Landor, and others were published in a selection ed. A. G. L'Estrange (3 vols, 1870) and in Letters of M. R. Mitford, 2nd Series, ed. H. Chorley (2 vols, 1872).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries
Works by Mary Russell Mitford

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.