Modern Apprenticeship

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Is a UK government training initiative launched by the Conservatives in 1993. It seeks to revive and improve apprenticeship training in sectors where it is established and extend it to new areas of the economy. Modern Apprenticeships share some of the features of traditional apprenticeship in that they are based on a contract of apprenticeship, combine work-based and off-the-job training, and share the costs of training through lower-wage rates for apprentices. However, they also differ in that they are based on industry standards, monitored externally, result in the acquisition of a competence-based National Vocational Qualification level 3, and attract government subsidy for off-the-job training. Under the current system of provision, there are two levels of Modern Apprenticeship. Foundation Modern Apprenticeships (FMAs), of which there are more than sixty programmes, last for at least twelve months, whilst Advanced Modern Apprenticeships (AMAs) last at least two years. There are more than eighty AMAs available, which result in the level 3 award.

Subjects: Human Resource Management — Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.