Richard Mohaupt


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Breslau [now Wrocław], 14 Sept. 1904; d Reichenau, Austria, 3 July 1957). German composer. He studied with Julius Prüwer, conductor of the Breslau Opera, and began his career as a conductor, though he also appeared as a pianist. Since his wife was Jewish, he was obliged to flee when the Nazis took power; like Prüwer he settled in New York, in 1939, returning to Europe only in 1955. His music—lustily energetic and often rhythmically alert, though not always harmonically individual—includes five operas, four ballets, a symphony (Rhythmus und Variationen, 1940), a Concerto for Orchestra (1942), a Violin Concerto (1945), and Bucolica (1955) for four soloists, chorus, and orchestra.

From The Oxford Companion to Music in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.