Moh scale

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A relative scale of hardness, based on the ability of a harder mineral to scratch a soft one. The ten minerals in the scale are: talc, gypsum, calcite, fluorite, apatite, feldspar quartz, topaz, carborundum, and diamond. Use Moh's scale by testing an unknown mineral against one of these standard minerals. Whichever one scratches the other is harder, and if both scratch each other they are both of the same hardness.

Subjects: Earth Sciences and Geography.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.