Brian Moore

(1921—1999) writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist, born and educated in Belfast. He emigrated in 1948 to Canada and subsequently moved to the USA. Judith Hearne (1955; published in the US as The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne, 1956) is a poignant story of a lonely Belfast spinster who takes refuge in alcohol. His subsequent works, many of which deal with transatlantic migrations, include The Feast of Lupercal (1957, set in Belfast); The Luck of Ginger Coffey (1960, describing the misfortunes and daydreams of an Irish immigrant in Canada); I am Mary Dunne (1968, a first‐person female narration set in America); Catholics (1972, a papal representative visiting an Irish religious community some time in the future); and The Mangan Inheritance (1979, an American journalist in search of his Irish heritage and the poète maudit J. C. Mangan. Other works include The Black Robe (1983); Lies of Silence (1990), a novel of the Troubles; and The Magician's Wife (1997). Critics have praised both the versatility of his subject‐matter and the economy and understatement of his style.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.