Honoré Willsie Morrow


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1880–1940), born in Iowa, before making her home in New York lived for a time in Arizona. The West was the background of her early novels, mainly concerned with pleas for desert and forest reclamation and a return to the faith of the pioneers: The Heart of the Desert (1913), Still Jim (1915), Lydia of the Pines (1917), The Forbidden Trail (1919), The Enchanted Canyon (1921), Judith of the Godless Valley (1922), The Exile of the Lariat (1923), and The Devonshers (1924). From 1914 to 1919 she edited The Delineator. Her later books include We Must March (1925), dealing with Marcus Whitman and his wife, pioneers of the Northwest; Forever Free (1927), With Malice Toward None (1928), and The Last Full Measure (1930), a trilogy dealing with Lincoln; The Father of Little Women (1927), a study of Alcott; Mary Todd Lincoln (1928); The Splendor of God (1929), a novel concerned with Adoniram Judson; Tiger! Tiger! (1930), about John B. Gough, a temperance lecturer; Black Daniel (1931), the story of Daniel Webster; and Demon Daughter (1939), “the confession of a modern girl and her mother.”

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.