Willard Motley


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


author of naturalistic novels drawing upon his life in Chicago's slums but little upon his heritage as a black: Knock on Any Door (1947), about a boy growing from a juvenile delinquent to a murderer; We Fished All Night (1951); and Let No Man Write My Epitaph (1958), telling of the search for a decent life by the son of the protagonist of his first novel. Let Noon Be Fair (1966) depicts tourist trade corrupting a town in Mexico, the country in which Motley lived from 1951 on. His stories appear in Soon, One Morning (1963), and his Diaries was published in 1979.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.