Mounds of the Amazon

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Five types of archaeological mounds have been noted in the Amazon region: shell refuse mounds, artificial earth platforms for villages, earth mounds and ridges for cultivation, causeways and canals, and figurative mounds.


Subjects: Archaeology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.