Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


The Assyrian Empire can be divided into three main periods, the last of which dates to the Iron Age and is known as the neo‐Assyrian. After a period of mediocrity between about 860 bc and 740 bc, Tiglath‐Pileser III began the creation of the Assyrian Empire, well reflected in the scriptures of the Old Testament and amongst whose rulers are Sargon (721–705 bc), Sennacherib (704–681 bc), Esarhaddon (690–699 bc), and Ashurbanipal (668–627 bc). At its largest, the neo‐Assyrian Empire ran from Elam to Egypt. It was destroyed in 612 bc by an alliance of the Babylonians and the Medes.

Subjects: Archaeology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.