New France

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

French possessions in North America discovered, explored, and settled from the 16th to the 18th centuries. Its centres were Quebec (founded in 1608) and Montreal (founded in 1642) on the St Lawrence River. In 1712 New France stretched from the Gulf of St Lawrence to beyond Lake Superior and included Newfoundland, Acadia (Nova Scotia), and the Mississippi valley as far south as the Gulf of Mexico. It began to disintegrate after the Peace of Utrecht was signed in 1713, when France lost Acadia, Newfoundland, and Hudson Bay; it ceased to exist as a political entity in 1763 under the terms of the Treaty of Paris. Louisiana, the last French colony on mainland North America, was sold to the USA in 1803.

Subjects: Literature — History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.