New South Wales

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A member state of the federal Commonwealth of Australia, was founded 26 January 1788 as a penal colony when Britain annexed over two‐thirds of the Australian continent. NSW was later separated into Tasmania (1825, settled 1803), South Australia (1834, settled 1836), Victoria (1851, settled 1834), Northern Territory (1863, incorporated as a federal territory in 1910, yet to achieve full statehood), Queensland (1859, settled 1824), and the Australian Capital Territory (1911).

With its convict heritage, large unionized industrial population, and somewhat left‐of‐centre political attitudes, as well as its leading role in the export of wheat and wool, and Sydney's position as Australia's major stock exchange and growing importance as a company headquarters city, NSW is politically and economically Australia's most powerful state.

Subjects: Australasian and Pacific History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.