Northwest Territories

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A region and former territory of the USA lying between the Mississippi and Ohio rivers and the Great Lakes. It was acquired in 1783 after the War of American Independence and now comprises the states of Indiana (1800), Ohio (1803), Michigan (1805), Illinois (1809), and Wisconsin (1836).

Subjects: Literature — History of the Americas.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.