Nuclear Test Ban

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


An international agreement not to test nuclear weapons in the atmosphere, in outer space, or under water, signed by the USA, the Soviet Union, and the UK (but not France). On 1 July 1968 the UK, the USA, and the Soviet Union signed a Non-Proliferation Treaty, which was endorsed by 59 other states. China carried out underground nuclear tests during 1994–95 and declared it would continue testing. France received international condemnation for carrying out a series of six tests in the south Pacific (1995–96) but then announced a permanent end of French tests. In 1996 member nations began signing a comprehensive test-ban treaty, which will not become legally binding unless all the nuclear nations sign.

Subjects: Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution — World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.