Joyce Carol Oates

(b. 1938)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1938– ),

American novelist, short‐story writer, poet, and critic, born in Lockport, New York, educated at Syracuse University and the University of Wisconsin. A former professor of English at the University of Detroit, where much of her work is set. She is a prolific writer, whose fiction portrays intense individual experiences as expressions of the dark and violent heart of American society. Her novels, predominantly naturalistic but with suggestions of the neo‐Gothic, include A Garden of Earthly Delights (1967), The Assassins (1975), Bellefleur (1980), American Appetites (1989), What I Lived For (1994), Blonde (2000), The Falls (2004), and Black Girl/White Girl (2006). Black Water (1992), set on an island off the coast of Maine, is the story of a young woman's meeting with a US senator at a beach party and her subsequent death by drowning. Foxfire (1993) is a powerful portrayal of a teenage girl‐gang in upstate New York during the 1950s. Among many short‐story collections are Upon the Sweeping Flood (1966), The Hungry Ghosts (1974), Last Days (1984), and High Lonesome: New & Selected Stories, 1966–2006 (2006). She has also published collections of poetry, essays, and critical writings.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.