Margaret Oliphant

(1828—1897) novelist and biographer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


a prolific Scots writer, she published Passages in the Life of Mrs Margaret Maitland (1849), a tale of Scotland; Caleb Field (1851); and The Athelings (1857), one of her many domestic romances. She produced biographies of Edward Irving (1862) and Laurence Oliphant (1891) (no relation). She is best remembered for her ‘Chronicles of Carlingford’ series (the most notable of which are Salem Chapel, 1863; The Perpetual Curate, 1864; Miss Marjoribanks, 1866; and Phoebe Junior, 1876), set among the aristocracy, professional families, and tradesmen of the town. Another interesting group, Stories of the Seen and Unseen, all connected in some way with death and the experience of the soul, began with A Beleaguered City (1880) which was followed by A Little Pilgrim (1882) and others.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.