Organization of Central American States

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference



A regional grouping comprising Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Established in 1951, its purpose was to establish the Central American Common Market. This goal was reached in 1960, but OCAS members cooperated on little else. The San Salvador Charter (1962) expanded the trade and fiscal provisions of the original treaty, envisaging permanent political, economic, and defence councils.

Subjects: Warfare and Defence — World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.