Pacific Forum

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An international organization formed as the South Pacific Forum (SPC) in 1971, largely on the initiative of New Zealand. It hosted a series of occasional meetings between the heads of governments of its member states, i.e. Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and (Western) Samoa. In 1985 it concluded the Treaty of Raratonga, which declared the South Pacific a nuclear‐free zone from December 1986. However, this was not recognized by the USA, France, or the UK. Palau joined in 1995, and New Caledonia and French Polynesia were granted associate membership in 2006. In 2000, the SPC formally changed its name to the Pacific Forum.http://www.forumsec.org.fjThe official home page of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat.

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.