Pakistan Muslim League

Related Overviews


'Pakistan Muslim League' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Islam


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Successor of the (All-India) Muslim League, which led to Muslim independence in parts of the Indian subcontinent. Established in 1906 in Dhaka, it championed self-rule in the Muslim provinces of India until 1930. After the Lahore Resolution in 1940, it articulated a clear demand for a Muslim homeland. Pakistan was created with the effort of Indian Muslims for which the Muslim League served as a vital platform. After the creation of Pakistan in 1947, the Muslim League ruled Pakistan from 1947 to 1958 and also in the 1960s, 1980s, and 1990s.

See also Muslim League

Subjects: Islam.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.