pañcāyatana pūjā

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A form of domestic pūjā associated with orthoprax smārtas, involving the worship of five deities: Devī, Gaṇeśa, Śiva, Sūrya, and Viṣṇu. Their images are differently arranged in the domestic shrine, depending on which deity is placed at the centre. Pañcāyatana pūjā is said to have been promoted by Śaṅkara.

Subjects: Hinduism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.