Parade's End

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A tetralogy by F. M. Ford, now known under this collective title, but originally published as Some Do Not… (1924), No More Parades (1925), A Man Could Stand Up (1926), and Last Post (1928).

The hero is Christopher Tietjens of Groby, a Tory Yorkshire squire married to the neurotic, beautiful, tormenting, unfaithful Catholic, Sylvia. In the first volume Christopher agrees to take back his wife and to conceal her adultery; meanwhile he himself falls in love with a young suffragette schoolteacher, Valentine Wannop. The next two volumes cover his wartime experiences and his resolution, on Armistice Day, to leave Sylvia and make Valentine his mistress. In Last Post Valentine is pregnant, Christopher is making his living by restoring antiques, and his older brother Mark is dying; Sylvia eventually agrees to divorce Christopher. The subject of the novel appears to be the breakdown of the accepted standards of the old world and the necessary emergence of a new order.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.