treaty of Paris

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


The treaty was concluded between France and the victorious allies (Austria, Great Britain, Portugal, Prussia, Russia, Spain, and Sweden) on 30 May. Napoleon Bonaparte had abdicated on 6 April and the allies wished to offer a generous peace to help the restored king, Louis XVIII. France was allowed to keep her frontiers as on 1 January 1792, thus retaining some of the gains of the revolutionary period. With some exceptions, she regained her colonies.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.