Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


1 The division of a territory into two or more units, each under a different government.

2 The division of supreme power over a territory between different governments (e.g. federal and state).

3 The formal separation, effected by deed, of land held in common ownership into parts, so that each co-owner takes his part solely, beneficially, and free from any rights of the others. Partition of land cannot be enforced without the consent of all the co-owners.

4 The transfer to different companies of parts of a trade or undertaking (or two or more trades or undertakings) of a company. This is usually by means of a distribution agreement or a demerger under the Income and Corporation Taxes Act 1988. Compare partition of chattels.

Subjects: Law — European History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.