Kenneth Patchen


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Ohio and educated at the University of Wisconsin (1929–30), lived in New York and later in California. His poetry, marked by religious symbols and intricate figures recalling the metaphysicals, is also free in structure and associations. Collections include Before the Brave (1936), First Will and Testament (1939), Sleepers Awake (1946), Selected Poems (1946, enlarged 1958), Red Wine & Yellow Hair (1949), and Collected Poems (1969). Many of his works are illustrated with his own abstract, expressionistic art. His prose includes The Journal of Albion Moonlight (1941), a stream-of-consciousness account; The Memoirs of a Shy Pornographer (1945), a satirical novel; and See You in the Morning (1948), a love story about a dying man.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.