permanent dentition

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The 32 teeth of the second dentition which replace the primary dentition. Each quadrant has 8 teeth: 2 incisors, 1 canine, 2 premolars, and 3 molars. The incisors, canines, and premolars replace the teeth of the primary dentition. Eruption starts at about 5 years of age and is normally completed by the age of 21.

Subjects: Dentistry.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.