diocese of Peterborough

Related Overviews



Penda (d. 655) king of the Mercians

Peada (d. 656) king of the Middle Angles

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The see, now comprising Northamptonshire and parts of Cambridgeshire and Leicestershire, was founded by Henry VIII in 1541 out of the Lincoln diocese. The cathedral was built between 1118 and 1237 as the Benedictine abbey church. Catherine of Aragon was buried there.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.