Philological Society

Related Overviews

Frederick James Furnivall (1825—1910) textual scholar and editor

Arthur Penrhyn Stanley (1815—1881) dean of Westminster

Thomas Arnold (1795—1842) headmaster and historian

Richard Chenevix Trench (1807—1886) Church of Ireland archbishop of Dublin

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


'Philological Society' can also refer to...

Philological Society

Philological Society, the

‘The Bund’ and the Oxford Philological Society, 1939–45

Christopher Stray (ed.) The Owl of Minerva: The Cambridge Praelections of 1906. Pp. 172 (Proceedings of the Cambridge Philological Society, Supplementary Volume, no. 28). Cambridge: Cambridge Philological Society, 2005. Paperbound £24.00 (ISBN 0 906014 27 1).

HAYMAN, Henry (1823 - 1904), Rector of Aldingham, Lancs; Hon. Canon of Carlisle; Member of Cambridge Philological Society

VAMBERY, Arminius (1832 - 1913), Hon. Doctor of the Budapest University and of the Dublin Trinity College; Hon. and Corresponding Member of various philological and geographical societies; Professor of Oriental languages, Pesth University

GOLLANCZ, Israel (1863 - 1930), Secretary of the British Academy since its foundation in 1902; Professor of English Language and Literature, in the University of London; Fellow of King’s College; Corresponding Member of the Royal Spanish Academy, 1919, and the Mediæval Academy of America, 1927; Leofric Lecturer in Old English, University College, Exeter; Hon. Director of the Early English Text Society; President of the Philological Society, 1919–22; Chairman of the Shakespeare Association; Hon. Freeman of the Stationers Company

PHILLOTT, Douglas Craven (1860 - 1930), Indian Army (retired); Lecturer in Hindustani, Cambridge University, since 1912; Secretary and Member, Board of Examiners Calcutta, 1905–12; Ex-Trustee and Treasurer, Indian Museum; Fellow of Calcutta University; Persian Lecturer, Calcutta University; President, Board of Studies in Arabic, Persian, and Urdu; and Member of the Syndicate, Calcutta University; General Secretary, Asiatic Society of Bengal, 1906–08; Philological Secretary, 1907–08; gold medallist, Persian; gold medallist, Urdu


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was founded in its present form in 1842 to investigate and to promote the study and knowledge of the structure, the affinities, and the history of language. Active in its formation were Thirlwell, A. P. Stanley, and T. Arnold; prominent members were to include Furnivall, Trench, and James Murray, all of whom were involved in the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.