Picosa Culture

'Picosa Culture' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Archaeology


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Archaic Stage hunter‐gatherer communities living in the southwestern parts of North America in the period 7000 bc to ad 200. The Picosa Culture was recognized by Cynthia Irwin‐Williams on the basis of a series of general or ‘integrative’ traits, and subdivided into four chronologically or spatially separable traditions on the basis of a series of ‘isolative’ traits. The four subdivisions of the Picosa Culture (whose name is a compound of the first two letters from each of the first three subdivisions) are: Pinto (7000 bc to ad 500), Cochise (7000–200 bc), San Pedro (1500–200 bc), Southeastern (not fully dated), and Oshara (5500 bc to ad 600).

Subjects: Archaeology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.