plasminogen activator

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Enzymes that convert the inactive substance plasminogen to the active enzyme plasmin, which digests blood clots (see fibrinolysis). There are two types of plasminogen activators, tissue-type plasminogen activator (tPA) and urokinase-like plasminogen activator (uPA). See blood coagulation.

Subjects: Chemistry — Medicine and Health.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.