P Levels

Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Education


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Assessment criteria for use with pupils aged 5–16 who are attaining below national curriculum level 1. They were introduced by the Department for Education and Skills in 1998 and were amended in 2001 and 2004. They exist for all national curriculum subjects including religious education, personal, social, and health education, and citizenship. There are eight levels for each subject (P1 being the lowest and P8 the highest) with P1–P3 each split into two sub‐levels (P1i, P1ii, etc.). They are used by special and mainstream schools to establish pupils' current level of performance, monitor their progress, and set targets.

T. B.

Trisha Bowen,


Liz Ellis

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.