Pogson scale

Related Overviews

Norman Robert Pogson (1829—1891) astronomer


'Pogson scale' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Astronomy and Astrophysics


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The standard scale of magnitude, which was formulated mathematically by N. R. Pogson in 1856. He proposed that a difference of 5 magnitudes should be defined as corresponding to a difference of exactly 100 in the intensities of the stars concerned. A difference of 1 magnitude therefore corresponds to the fifth root of 100, which is 2.512.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.