postconventional morality

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The third and final Kohlberg stage of moral development, characterized by the internalization of moral principles. It is divided into two levels: at Level 5 the child defines moral behaviour in terms of the social contract and what is generally agreed to be for the public good (I should not tell lies, because it is in all our best interests for everyone to be truthful), and at Level 6 it is based on genuine ethical principles that determine a person's personal moral code. Compare conventional morality, preconventional morality.

Subjects: Psychology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.