Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Small crustaceans, various species of the families Aristaeidae, Palaemonidae, Penaeidae, and Pandalidae. Traditionally small fish are called shrimps and larger ones prawns; by EU regulations fish which when cooked have a count of less than 397/kg (or peeled tails <1 323/kg) are called either prawns or shrimp. Those that have a count of less than 123/kg with head and shell on (or <242/kg with head and shell removed) are king prawns. The deep-water prawn is Pandalus borealis; common pink shrimp is Pandalus montagui; brown shrimp is Crangon spp.; kuruma prawn is Penaeus japonicus; tiger prawn (the largest of the commercially important prawns) is Penaeus spp.

See also Dublin Bay prawn; lobster; scampi.

Subjects: Medicine and Health.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.