Terry Pratchett

(b. 1948)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1948– ),

British fantasy novelist. The Colour of Magic (1983) introduced his ‘Discworld’, which has since become the setting for over 30 satirical fantasy novels. Discworld is balanced on four elephants, which in turn stand on the back of the great sky turtle, and is the finely imagined heart of Pratchett's ‘multiverse’. Other Discworld titles include Equal Rites (1987), Mort (1987), Guards! Guards! (1989), Reaper Man (1991), and Witches Abroad (1991). The countless memorable characters of this massively popular series include the witches Nanny Ogg and Granny Weatherwax, and the figure of Death, who speaks in small caps and rides a horse called Binky. Pratchett has also written books for younger readers and other comic fantasy work including collaborations with Neil Gaiman: Good Omens (1990) is their response to horror film The Omen, but in this Armageddon story the Antichrist appears (owing to a small clerical error) in the small English town of Tadfield.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.