primary education

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

In England and Wales this refers to provision for children aged 5–11. It is usually divided into two phases: the infant school for 5–7‐year‐olds, which delivers Key Stage 1 of the national curriculum, and the junior school for 7–11‐year‐olds, which delivers Key Stage 2. This system operates in all areas except those where first and middle schools have been introduced. It has been formally in existence since the Education Act 1944 (Butler Act), having replaced the system of elementary schools, which, up until the mid‐1920s, took pupils aged 5–14 (constituting, for many, the only schooling they would receive), and later aged 5–11. During the primary phase of their education, pupils take two national tests in the form of Standard Tasks, one at age 7 and the next at age 11. In Scotland primary education is between the ages of 5 and 12, and follows a national curriculum, although there is no synchronous national testing.

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.