primary emotions

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

According to a classification suggested in 1971 by the US psychologists Paul Ekman (born 1934) and Wallace V(erne) Friesen (born 1933), the six emotions of happiness, sadness, disgust, fear, anger, and surprise, so called partly because their associated facial expressions appear to be innate, the evidence for this being that they appear soon after birth, even in infants born blind and deaf who could not have learnt them from others, and that they are expressed and decoded similarly in relatively isolated cultures that have been studied by anthropologists. Some researchers believe that other emotions or affects are blends of these six.

Subjects: Psychology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.