'Ptilonorhynchidae' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Zoology and Animal Sciences


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

; class Aves, order Passeriformes)

A family of medium-sized to large birds, which are mainly black, grey, or blue, marked with other brilliant colours. They have stout bills, short to medium, rounded wings, and short to long tails. Some species have a crest or coloured ruff of feathers. They inhabit forests, feed on insects, fruit, and seeds, and nest in trees. The males build an elaborate bower or display ground which is decorated with coloured flowers, berries, and other objects. There are eight genera, with 18 species, found in New Guinea and Australia.

Subjects: Zoology and Animal Sciences.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.