'Pycnonotidae' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Zoology and Animal Sciences


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

; class Aves, order Passeriformes)

A family of medium-sized, grey, brown, and olive birds, which have areas of yellow, red, white, or black. They have short to medium-length, slender, slightly curved bills, hooked or notched in some species, with rounded wings, and fairly long tails. They have rictal bristles, and hair-like neck feathers, and some are crested. They are mainly arboreal, inhabit forests and cultivated areas, feed on fruit and insects, and nest in trees and on the ground. Hypsipetes species (of which there are 20) have longer wings than other bulbuls and some are migratory. Some of the 48 species of Pycnonotus are popular cage birds and P. jocosus (red-whiskered bulbul), which inhabits more open areas and cultivated land, has become successfully established in Australia and N. America. There are 15 genera, comprising about 120 species, found in Africa, southern Asia, the Philippines, and the Moluccas.

Subjects: Zoology and Animal Sciences.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.