Barbara Pym

(1913—1980) novelist

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist. Her novels include Excellent Women (1952), Less than Angels (1955), A Glass of Blessings (1958), and Quartet in Autumn (1977). They are satirical tragi‐comedies of middle‐class life; many of the relationships described consist of a kind of celibate flirtation.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.