Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Turkic tribal dynasty that ruled Iran between 1796 and 1925. Began as a tribal federation founded by Muhammad Khan (d. 1797). Qajar unification ended eighteenth-century civil strife. In 1919 Reza Khan led a coup, ended the Qajar dynasty, and established the Pahlavi dynasty (1925).

Subjects: Islam.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.