Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

n. one of the great extensor muscles of the legs. It is situated in the thigh and is subdivided into four distinct portions: the rectus femoris (which also flexes the thigh), vastus lateralis, vastus medialis, and vastus intermedius (see illustration).

Components of the quadriceps femoris.

Subjects: Medicine and Health.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »