Related Overviews

Act of Union

Union, Act of (Wales)


Offa (d. 796) king of the Mercians


'Radnorshire' can also refer to...





Philipps, Laurence Richard (1874 - 1962), JP Hampshire and Radnorshire

Walsh, George Harry William (1863 - 1943), DL; JP Radnorshire

MILBANK, Powlett Charles John (1852 - 1918), JP, DL; Lord-Lieutenant of Radnorshire, 1895; Master of Foxhounds, Radnorshire and West Herefordshire, since 1902

HOWELL, Frederick Duke Gwynne (1881 - 1967), JP, DL Radnorshire; Royal Army Medical Corps

DAVIES, Christopher Paul (born 1967), MP (C) Brecon and Radnorshire, since 2015

BROMFIELD, Harry Hickman (1869 - 1916), of Newnham Hall, Northamptonshire; Chief Constable Radnorshire

WATKINS, Hubert Bromley (1897 - 1984), DL; Vice-Lieutenant of Radnorshire, 1958–74; Chairman, Radnorshire Co. Ltd, 1966–70; Chairman, Bates & Hunt (Agric.) Ltd, 1952–70

WILLIAMS, Victoria Kirstyn (born 1971), Member (Lib Dem) Brecon and Radnorshire, since 1999, and Leader, Welsh Liberal Democrats, since 2008, National Assembly for Wales

THOMPSON, Samuel Nock (1851 - 1938), DL Radnorshire; JP Cos. Stafford and Radnor, and Borough of Smeth wick; Major (retired), 1st VB Worcestershire Regt

VENABLES-LLEWELYN, (Charles) Michael Dillwyn- (1900 - 1976), Lieutenant of Powys, since 1974 (Lord Lieutenant of Radnorshire, 1949–74)

CARTER, John Corrie (1839 - 1927), Barrister, Inner Temple; Recorder of Stamford, 1881–1912; Chairman of Quarter Sessions for Radnorshire, 1895–1913

EDWARDS, Francis (1852 - 1927), DL, JP; MP (R) Radnorshire, 1892–95, 1900–10, and 1910–18

SAMUEL, Howel Walter (1881 - 1953), QC 1931; Barrister-at-law; Judge of County Courts on Circuit No. 28 (Mid-Wales) since 1933; Chairman, Radnorshire Quarter Sessions


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Sir Faesyfed) County of mid‐Wales created at the Act of Union with England in 1536. It was part of the Welsh kingdom of Powys but was subject to Saxon attack both before and after the construction of Offa's Dike. It was rapidly overrun by the Normans, the north becoming Mortimer land, whilst the south was taken by the Braoses. These two areas were eventually formed into the new county, the smallest of the Welsh shires. Incorporated into Powys as a district in 1974, it became part of the Powys unitary authority in 1996.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.