Treaties of Rapallo

Related Overviews


'Treaties of Rapallo' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • World History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Two treaties signed at Rapallo, a city in north Italy. The First Treaty of Rapallo (1920) established relations between Italy and the kingdom of Serbs, Croatians, and Slovenes (Yugoslavia). Italy obtained the Istrian peninsula while Dalmatia went to Yugoslavia. Fiume (Rijeka) became a free city. The Second Treaty of Rapallo (1922) was more important. It recorded an agreement between Germany and the Soviet Union. The two countries agreed to abandon any financial claims that each might bring against the other following World War I. Secretly, in defiance of the Versailles Peace Settlement, German soldiers were to be permitted to train in the Soviet Union.

Subjects: World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.