Conference of Ratisbon

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A conference of three Catholic and three Protestant theologians convened by Charles V at Ratisbon (Regensburg). Though doctrinal agreement was reached on some subjects, including a basis of agreement on justification, major differences remained, and the subsequent hostility of M. Luther, as well as political rivalries, prevented any union being effected.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.