Simon Raven

(1927—2001) writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist, educated at King's College, Cambridge. In 1957 he resigned his infantry commission to become a professional writer and reviewer. His first novel, The Feathers of Death (1959), brought him instant recognition. His major work is a ten‐volume series of novels, Alms for Oblivion, beginning in 1964 with The Rich Pay Late (though Fielding Gray, 1967, is chronologically the first in the series), and ending with The Survivors (1976). The sequence presents an uncompromising panorama of post‐war life from 1945 to 1973 through the lives and vicissitudes of the same group of characters. Some of these also appeared in the seven‐volume series The First‐Born of Egypt, which began with Morning Star (1984) and concluded with The Troubadour (1992). The Old School (1986), a work of non‐fiction, reflected Raven's ambivalent attitude to the British public school system. He also published plays and essays.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.